Texas A&M University Institute of Advanced Studies

World-class scholars present lectures during Hagler Institute Symposium

2015-16 Faculty Fellow Susan Suleiman speaks during Session V: Writing in Dark Times. Her lecture was titled Diaries in a Time of Catastrophe: Who Writes for Whom? Why Write and How? Suleiman is C. Douglas Dillon Research Professor of the Civilization of France and research professor of comparative literature at Harvard University.

The Hagler Institute Symposium brought together twenty-one of the world’s leading scholars for two-and-a-half days of outstanding lectures on subjects ranging from genomics to physics to literature to computers.

Sponsored by the Hagler Institute for Advanced Study at Texas A&M University, the symposium was held at the Mitchell Institute for Fundamental Physics and Astronomy in February on the Texas A&M campus.

Among the presenters were eleven of the Institute’s forty-five Faculty Fellows, past and present: Manfred Schartl, Richard Gibbs, Robert Levine, Wolfgang Schleich, Roy Glauber, Robert Calderbank, Ingrid Daubechies, Maryellen Giger, Alan Needleman and Susan Suleiman. 

“This symposium brings a collection of the world’s finest minds to College Station with the goal of inspiring our amazing students and our stellar faculty to even greater academic heights", Founding Director John L. Junkins said.

For news coverage of the symposium, see the following stories from The Eagle in Bryan-College Station:


Marlan Scully, symposium coordinator and director of the Institute of Quantum Science & Engineering, welcomes guests to the first day of the Hagler Institute Symposium.


Manfred Schartl, a 2015-16 Faculty Fellow, presents his lecture, What Small Aquarium Fish Can Tell Us About Human Cancer, during the genetics and medicine session. Schartl is a professor and chairman at the Physiological Chemistry Biocenter, Medical School, University of Würzburg, Germany.


Robert S. Levine, a 2013-14 Faculty Fellow, speaks in the Literary Democracy session. His lecture was titled Frederick Douglass in Fiction from Harriet Beecher Stowe to James McBride. Levine, a Distinguished Professor of English at the University of Maryland, received the 2014 Jay B. Hubbell Medal for Lifetime Achievement in American Literature.


2013-14 Faculty Fellow Wolfgang Schleich lectures on Using the Atom as a Laboratory:  Willis Lamb Kick-starts Modern Quantum Physics. A Distinguished Professor of quantum physics at the University of Ulm in Germany, Schleich made his presentation during The Nobel Foundation Celebrates Quantum Mechanics session.


Texas A&M University President Michael K. Young welcomes the audience to Session III: The Nobel Foundation Celebrates Quantum Mechanics on the second day of the symposium.


Nobel Laureate Roy Glauber, a 2013-2014 Faculty Fellow, makes a presentation titled One Hundred Years of Light Quanta during the Physics Colloquium. Glauber, who received the Nobel Prize in Physics in 2005, is Malinkrodt Professor of Physics Emeritus at Harvard University as well as Eminent Scholar in Residence and visiting professor in the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences at Texas A&M.


Ingrid Daubechies, a 2016-17 Faculty Fellow, presents her lecture Surfing with Wavelets during Session IV: Information and Computation: Tools for Better Living. Daubechies is James B. Duke Professor of Mathematics and Electrical and Computer Engineering at Duke University.