Texas A&M University Institute of Advanced Studies

Texas A&M to Host Symposium on Energy and Environment

This daylong symposium is open to the public on Monday, April 18, on the Texas A&M University campus featuring Texas A&M President Michael K. Young and three Nobel laureates.

State Capital Ceiling

A star‐studded lineup featuring three Nobel laureates and a former U.S. Secretary of Energy will join Texas A&M University President Michael K. Young for a Monday, April 18, symposium on the Texas A&M campus addressing energy and the environment.

The daylong event, "Energy and the Environment: Scientific, Economic and Legal Issues," will take place from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. within Texas A&M's George P. and Cynthia Woods Mitchell Institute for Fundamental Physics and Astronomy.

In addition to Young, featured speakers will include former Energy Secretary, Stanford University Professor and 1997 Nobel Prize winner in Physics Steven Chu; joint Texas A&M‐Harvard University Professor and 1986 Nobel Prize winner in Chemistry Dudley Herschbach; and Texas A&M Agriculture Economics Professor and 2007 Nobel Peace Prize recipient Bruce A. McCarl. Texas A&M Energy Institute Director Christodoulos A. Floudas and Baylor University President and Chancellor Kenneth W. Starr round out the day's list of prestigious presenters. (Click here for an event schedule.)

The symposium is jointly sponsored by the Texas A&M Institute for Advanced Study and the Texas A&M Institute for Quantum Science and Engineering.

Following breakfast in the Mitchell Institute first‐floor atrium area, the symposium will begin with 8:30 a.m. welcoming remarks from IQSE Director and Distinguished Professor of Physics Marlan Scully, TIAS Director and Distinguished Professor of Aerospace Engineering John Junkins and a fourth Nobel laureate, David M. Lee, Texas A&M Distinguished Professor of Physics and 1996 Nobel Prize winner in Physics. Presentations will be divided into morning and afternoon sessions highlighting topics such as climate change, carbon capture, alternative energy, sustainability and the overall impacts and applications, from science policy to society. Sessions will be individually chaired by Lee, the Cynthia and George Mitchell Foundation's Sheridan Mitchell Lorenz, Texas A&M Distinguished Professor of Atmospheric Sciences and Oceanography Gerald North, and Texas A&M University System Regents Judy Morgan and Charles Schwartz.

The day will conclude with an evening reception and dinner for registered guests at the Clayton W. Williams Jr. Alumni Center featuring remarks from Texas A&M University System Chancellor John Sharp and Texas State Climatologist John Nielsen‐Gammon.

For additional information, please visit the symposium website or email iqse@tamu.edu.